By the beginning of the third week I decided to apply for
gov’t programs. We had cashed in my wife’s
retirement, what little there was of it at our age. Between my severance and her retirement we
figured we could at least make it through to January.
I have always worked, always refused handouts my entire
life. On principle I did not apply for
food stamps in collage even though I knew several people that did. Because a student income isn’t much. Instead I worked full time while taking a
full class load in college. It is this
same reasoning for why it took till the third week of being unemployed until I
applied for food stamps.
Now don’t misunderstand me, I applied for unemployment the
same day I was laid off. But I didn’t
think I needed to be on welfare. That is
until we got the letter from the insurance company telling us that we were
going to lose our insurance. We could
paid monthly to keep it, but since unemployment pays less than minimum wage in
Florida that did not seem likely. Under
normal circumstances I would not be worried about losing insurance for a short
time. But our youngest daughter has a
brain tumor and her medical treatment is absolutely imperative.
As luck would have it her specialist takes Medicaid. One year into her treatment I did not want to
have to find another doctor for her.
Besides we actually really like this doctor.
So I go to the “my access Florida” website to fill out my
application. It says it should take
roughly 20-30 minutes. Now, I have a Master’s
Degree and I needed help to understand the application. 2 hours later I think I have the application
filled out properly and send it off.
By this time I can finally begin to claim my weeks for unemployment. I log on to the site to file, take out my
notebook that I keep track of every job I apply for and the info that goes with
it. O.K. I get to the part where you
have to submit 5 jobs you apply for that week.
(Why only 5 I don’t know I apply for at least that many a day
lately.) To my surprise they don’t want
the information. Oh, sure there is a
place to put it if you want, but the only required thing is the name of the
place and the date. Now I know how
people rip off the system. But who would
do that considering unemployment barely even covers my mortgage let alone pay
any of bills with it.
Then I get the phone interview with DCF. I am told I need to go down and talk to my
former boss and have him fill out a 2 page form to verify my loss of work. I tell them that is stupid since one I hate,
and I mean that most sincerely, the man for what he is putting my family
through and beside the point I am currently collecting unemployment so they
already have verification of loss of income.
Apparently stupidity and redundancy is inherent in every government
system. So I am forced to try and get
the form filled out.
This was three months ago, I my application is still
pending. The only income we have now is
unemployment. The bills are
mounting. And still no Medicaid for my
minor daughter who has a very serious medical condition. And, after finally trying to get through on
the phone to someone at the DCF office to ask for help to make sure I am
applying correctly, (they don’t have an office you go to it is all done online)
I get through to the biggest jerk in the world who actually literally called me
“stupid” and said I was not trying hard enough.
Now I know why they don’t let you go down to their office anymore. I believe if he would have said that to my
face I would be in jail right now. It is
currently three days till Christmas and I am still waiting for the approval to
get my daughter covered.

No comments:
Post a Comment